Week & Thoughts

Another week without day job and I am happy to say that I keep myself busy. Committing myself to a couple of projects now helps to structure my day and push myself to try out things. I particularly like that I force myself this time to get on touch with others, such as this interview with Mary Galvin that I published this week on Dementia & Design. It feels a lot like a step in the right direction in not only voicing my own opinion, but create a platform for exchange.

For brifrischu.de I wrote a post about design and activism in which I thought about my experience as a designer that made me think about activism as well. Even though I do not consider myself an activist yet, I feel more active since I started to design and I feel that I have the power to change the world. Not on my own and not at once, but I know that I do not have to take things that I think are wrong. I think this feeling guides a lot of my design work as well as my personal life as I want to share it with others and enable everyone to feel the same power. It feels clearer to me now what connects the different interests in my life.

It feels helpful at the moment to be able to step back from design and focus on thinking about design for a while. I am sure that it is going to be a good preparation for the PhD I hope to undertake soon – grounding myself as a designer, understanding my goals and aims as well as the way in which I tackle projects and how this can be improved.

New music: none. New books: Shame on me, none. New movies: Missed Leviathan, but saw ‘A girl walks home alone at night‘ – amazing take on the Vampire myths and great black & white cinema.

Leave a comment